School of Learning Justice

The Gikan-Ryū koppō jutsu was founded by Uryu Hangan Gikanbo, who was Daimyō of Kawachi no Kuni (Kawachi Castle). It is narrated that Uryu Hangan Gikanbo’s blow was so powerful that he once broke a sword blade in half.

Takamatsu Toshitsugu originally assigned the Ryū to Akimoto Fumio, who became the 14th sōke. However, Akimoto died prematurely from illness in 1962 and he had no heirs. So the system came back to Takamatsu Sensei. He then assigned it to Hatsumi Masaaki, who is the current sōke.

A teaching of the Gikan-Ryū is 武風に先手なし (The first blow does not come from this side). The Ryū has many special kicks, punches, and throws. Hatsumi has stated that the Ryū has no step-by-step explanations of the techniques and no kata. That is why the methods are passed on orally.

Hatsumi has not yet taught this Ryū in public because it is said to be very difficult. The stances should be very deep, with the toes almost always pointing in the opposite direction, which requires good balance.

Sōke of the Gikan-Ryū

  1. Uryu Hangan Gikanbo
  2. Uryu Yoshimitsu
  3. Uryu Yoshimori
  4. Uryu Yoshichika
  5. Uryu Yoshitaka
  6. Uryu Yoshihide
  7. Uryu Yoshimori
  8. Uryu Yoshiaki
  9. Uryu Yoshiyasu
  10. Uryu Gikan
  11. Ishitani Takeoi Masatsugu
  12. Ishitani Matsutaro Takekage
  13. Takamatsu Toshitsugu
  14. Akimoto Fumio
  15. Hatsumi Masaaki

Text: Stefan Imhoff